Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Sabine Hossenfelder: My dream died, and now I'm here (careers in video/film)

C C Offline
Why academia sucks
https://youtu.be/LKiBlGDfRU8

VIDEO EXCERPTS: When I signed up for studying at the university, I thought being a physicist was my dream job.

[...] When I started studying at the university, my expectations were based on biographies of scientists. They wrote a lot of letters to each other; they went to conferences. They were thinkers and tinkerers and had sometimes heated but usually respectful arguments.

This is what I expected. Yes, that was hopelessly naïve, I know I know.

But. In my defense. I don’t come from an academic background.

[...] At this time I was the only woman at the institute, except for the administration.

[...] I’m not just telling you this because it’s entertaining, it was also a rather rude awakening. It made me realize that this institute wasn’t about knowledge discovery. It was about money making.

And the more I saw of academia, the more I realized it wasn’t just this particular institute and this particular professor.

It was generally the case. The moment you put people into big institutions, the goal shifts from knowledge discovery to money making. Here’s how this works...

My dream died, and now I'm here

https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/LKiBlGDfRU8
Yazata Offline
It's sad but true.

And it's one reason why I would like to see Elon start his own research university. (He's toyed with the idea.) Create a haven, a think-tank, without all the activist politics, without the weird competitive academic careerism, without the constant battles to get grant funding - then attract the best-and-brightest in their fields to just be creative, productive and mutually-stimulating. Make it free for students, who would be highly selected.