Software Update [AUG/2020]

#11
stryder Offline
Update:

I've done a few server setting changes to the previous changes that were done to secure the site further. I realise that a couple of those older changes were likely involved in some elements of posting error (like getting a 403 message instead of being able to access the site etc). So they've been disabled until I bullet-proof them to work properly. Hopefully this should mean that some people that had issues, will have less issues.

I also removed a method used in HSTS, whereby the website would first resolve the domain.tld to HTTPS then add the subdomain on with an extra resolution. (It basically meant that any access to the site using http://domain.tld was going through two redirects). Now it just goes through the one to elevate HTTP to HTTPS (Which isn't inline with HSTS, however I decided not to use HSTS because while it does potentially add to security, it can also add to configuration errors.)..
Reply
#12
Syne Offline
My new posts are only showing up once I reload the page.

And the post's text remains in Quick Reply, even after reloading the page.


EDIT: Well, this doesn't happen all the time. No idea what the pattern is.
Reply
#13
confused2 Online
Firefox post

Firefox post
Posted as shown by refresh but still in the quick reply box.
Editing works - quick reply box still visible but is clear.
Reply
#14
Syne Offline
Yeah, I'm on Firefox too, if that means anything.
Reply
#15
stryder Offline
It sounds like some odd behaviour I'll have to look into. I don't usually use the Quick Reply, I usually preview to full editor so that might be why I haven't noticed it. However I will now check to see if I get the same results and see where the problem is.
Reply
#16
Syne Offline
Quick Reply seems to be working now. Thanks.
Reply
#17
stryder Offline
Well It's still a little finicky. Still working on it

Hopefully that's quashed a few of the bugs. It was down to custom templating (although I did find some bugs in the default, however that might just be relative to other customisation) in any event it should be fixed (possibly better than before the bug was noticed)
Reply
#18
confused2 Online
Test quick reply (Firefox)
Edit after test .. Seems to work - the update came up in no time without 'press any key'
Reply
#19
confused2 Online
I like the 'Reason for edit' box - a chance to regain some credibility (or lose it completely) after a fouled up post.
Reply
#20
stryder Offline
I think it's about time I start doing my dev changes on a dev setup lol I don't want you all getting upset at the occasion errors that pop up as I test things.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Software Update [AUG/2019] stryder 6 469 Aug 6, 2019 11:40 PM
Last Post: Syne
  Software Update [AUG/2018] stryder 11 2,171 Aug 30, 2018 04:29 AM
Last Post: stryder
  Software Update [OCT/2017] stryder 31 2,402 Dec 13, 2017 03:19 AM
Last Post: stryder
  Software Update [DEC/2017] stryder 0 398 Dec 1, 2017 04:36 PM
Last Post: stryder
Exclamation Software Update [APR/2017] stryder 2 548 Apr 8, 2017 03:14 PM
Last Post: elte
  Your software sucks magickal realist 6 1,338 Dec 27, 2016 03:13 AM
Last Post: Yazata
  Software Update [OCT/2016] stryder 3 598 Oct 30, 2016 03:35 PM
Last Post: stryder



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)