Total Solar Eclipse July 2

#1
In Chile and Argentina.

The European Southern Observatory in Chile plans to do a live webcast here

https://www.eso.org/public/live/

They say that the webcast starts 19:15 UTC (15:15 EDT, 12:15 PDT)

It reaches maximum at 20:40 UTC (16:40 EDT, 13:40 PDT)
Reply
#2
In contrast to the unpredictability of rocket launches, it's difficult to get enlivened about an eclipse that's only available by devices. Though scarce in a lifetime, looking at one overhead through filters at least feels more direct.

Even the Taurid meteor shower is past peak now. So despite a couple of weeks of the tail-end of that in July, the already forlorn hope of a rare "hazardous impactor" blowing a crater in Fred Ziffel's pasture and lighting up the horizon has fizzled.

Study investigates potential risk of Taurid meteor swarm
https://phys.org/news/2019-05-potential-...swarm.html
Reply
#3
(Jul 2, 2019 07:01 AM)C C Wrote: In contrast to the unpredictability of rocket launches, it's difficult to get enlivened about an eclipse that's only available by devices.

I'm not tremendously excited, but I do find it interesting though. So I'll keep checking in on their feed periodically.

I need to see the Texas cowboys get their crazy steampunk spaceship off the ground in Boca Chica to really excite me. (MR's space-aliens landing would work too.)

When the big American total eclipse happened a while back, I wasn't in the path of totality, but the Moon still covered most of the Sun. Watching bright daylight turn into a dim sunset-like dusk was pretty weird.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Lunar eclipse this weekend Leigha 9 326 Jan 22, 2019 05:31 AM
Last Post: Syne
  Blood moon arrives with false reports of EoW - longest lunar eclipse of century C C 0 153 Jul 12, 2018 09:12 PM
Last Post: C C
  Moon's origin story is in crisis + Eclipse conspiracy theories spread C C 0 149 Aug 10, 2017 05:35 AM
Last Post: C C
  Total Solar Eclipse in US on August 21, 2017 Yazata 1 208 Apr 16, 2017 01:08 AM
Last Post: Magical Realist
  Our 100-plus planet solar system + Young extra-solar system shows how planets evolve C C 0 246 Mar 19, 2017 02:02 AM
Last Post: C C
  Solar Eclipse [March 20th 2015] stryder 3 795 Mar 20, 2015 09:53 PM
Last Post: C C



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)