Imaging X-ray Polarimetry Explorer

#1
Yazata Offline
This is an orbiting x-ray telescope tweaked to be able to detect x-ray polarization. It's a joint project of NASA and the Italian Space Agency, which provided the satellite telescope's detectors. They say that the polarization of cosmic x-rays can provide lots of good information to astrophysicists about high energy objects like black holes, neutron stars and so on.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IXPE

It will be launched in a few minutes at 10:00 PM PST Wednesday, 1:00 AM EST Thursday and 06:00 UTC.

Lauch will be by SpaceX Falcon 9 from Pad 39A at Kennedy Space Center at Cape Canaveral. Booster will be B1061 on its 5th trip to space. It's previous exploit include lofting both the Crew 1 and Crew 2 crewed trips to the Space Station. Recovery will be on JRTI out in the Atlantic.

Livestream here


https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/CpmHsN5GUn8


https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/rwZVY-oLtHE
Reply
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Are some black holes wormholes in disguise? Gamma-ray blasts may shed clues. C C 1 233 Sep 28, 2020 01:09 AM
Last Post: Taormina
  All about gamma ray bursts and how serious they are.. Magical Realist 1 95 Sep 13, 2020 03:36 AM
Last Post: C C
  Chandra X-Ray Observatory Stuff Yazata 2 317 Feb 26, 2019 09:45 PM
Last Post: C C



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)